Chemistry Profesors Hailed for Innovative Work

Chenfeng Ke, assistant professor of chemistry

Assistant Professor Chenfeng Ke focuses on developing smart materials for use in 3D printing, elastic crystalline organic materials for energy and environmental related applications, and carbohydrate receptors for biological applications. The research in the Ke Functional Materials Group overlaps organic synthesis, crystal engineering, polymer synthesis, materials characterization, and 3D printing, with an emphasis on the design of supramolecular materials, he says.

Ke was recently among 12 chemists who received the 2019 Cottrell Scholar Award from Research Corporation for Science Advancement. “These awards provide $100,000 to each recipient identified as a leader in integrating science teaching and research at a top U.S. research university or a primarily undergraduate institution,” the Cottrell award committee writes.

Katherine Mirica, assistant professor of chemistry

Assistant Professor Katherine Mirica focuses on global challenges in healthcare and environmental stewardship through innovations in materials chemistry. This experimental strategy emphasizes molecular design and synthesis of responsive materials compatible with the unique demands of low-power, portable, affordable, easy-to-use electronic sensing devices, she says.

An important aspect of research in her Mirica Group lab is a feedback loop between fundamental and applied science, where the fundamental understanding of interactions of small molecules with responsive materials is used, probed, and refined in functional devices, Mirica says.

Mirica is also among the 12 chemists to receive the 2019 Cottrell Scholar Awards from Research Corporation for Science Advancement. Having two assistant professors from the chemistry department recognized by the 2019 Cottrell awards is a great point of distinction for Dartmouth, says colleague Associate Professor of Chemistry Ivan Aprahamian.