The 16th Annual Robert M. & Martha W. Ross Chemistry Lectures

Manganese Catalyzed C-H Functionalization -
From hydroxylation to fluorination and beyond

Thursday, April 19th
006 Steele

The Marx Lounge - 105 Burke Lab


Bioinorganic Chemistry -
the immune response and cancer

Friday, April 20th
006 Steele

John T. Groves
Hugh Stott Taylor Chair of Chemistry
Princeton University

John “Jay” T. Groves holds the Hugh Stott Taylor Chair of Chemistry at Princeton University, and is internationally recognized for his research in bioorganic and bioinorganic chemistry. Following his undergraduate education at MIT and graduate education at Columbia, where his PhD mentor was the late Ron Breslow, Jay Groves began his academic career at the University of Michigan, where he rose through the ranks to Professor and was the Director of the Michigan Center for Catalysis and Surface Chemistry. In 1985, he joined the faculty of the Department of Chemistry at Princeton.

Jay Groves has received many honors for his accomplishments, including election to the National Academy of Sciences and recognition as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the Royal Society of Chemistry. He has been the recipient of the Cope Scholar Award, the Award in Inorganic Chemistry, and the Bader Award in Bioorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry of the American Chemical Society, and he is the founder and principle scientist of HepatoChem LLC.

The major thrust of his research lies at the interface of organic, inorganic, and biological chemistry. Recent efforts in his lab have focused on the design of new biomimetic catalysts and the molecular mechanisms of metal-catalyzed redox processes, including C-H bond hydroxylation and halogenation, the design and assembly of large scale membrane-protein-small molecule constructs, molecular probes of peroxynitrite-mediated protein nitration, pharmaceutical strategies for protection against peroxynitrite-mediated pathologies, and mechanisms by which pathogens acquire metabolic iron from host cells.