The Hannah T. Croasdale Graduate Scholar Award

The Hannah Croasdale Award for academic excellence is awarded annually to the graduating Ph.D. recipient who best exemplifies the qualities of a scholar. This individual possesses personal qualities of intellectual curiosity, dedication, and commitment to the pursuit of new knowledge and to teaching, as well as a sense of social responsibility to the community of scholars. The recipient is selected by the Dean of Graduate Studies. All graduate departments are invited to nominate one graduating Ph.D. student each year for this award. Chemistry's nominees and winners are listed below.

About Hannah T. Croasdale

This award is named in honor of Professor Hannah Thompson Croasdale, who studied and taught for more than 40 years in what is now Dartmouth's Department of Biological Sciences. She began at Dartmouth in 1935, worked her way up through the ranks, and retired at the rank of full Professor in 1971. She pioneered the role of women faculty at Dartmouth by being the first woman to move through the ranks to the level of full Professor. Even after retirement, she continued to teach phycology, the study of freshwater and marine algae, as Professor Emerita for six years. Her distinguished career has been recognized by numerous honors, including a summer graduate student fellowship named in her honor by the Phycological Society of America. Professor Croasdale attended the University of Pennsylvania, graduating with a B.S. in 1928, an M.S. in 1931, and a Ph.D. in 1935. Professor Croasdale passed away on July 27, 1999 at the age of 93.

Nominees, Winners and Co-winners


  • 2019 nominee: Sarah Gibbons
  • 2018 nominee and winner: Hai Qian
  • 2017 nominee:  Alexandra Panaitiu
  • 2016 nominee: Hui Li
  • 2015 nominee: George Lisi
  • 2014 nominee: Xin Su
  • 2013 nominee and co-winner: April Daigle Lewoczko
  • 2012 nominee and winner: Matthew F. Cain
  • 2011 nominee: Timothy W. Chapp
  • 2010 nominee: Jian Yuan
  • 2009 nominee: Liangfeng Fu
  • 2008 nominee: Brian J. Anderson
  • 2007 nominee and winner: William G. O’Neal
  • 2006 nominee: Corina Scriban
  • 2005 nominee: Andrei Burnin
  • 2004 nominee: Diana Stefanescu
  • 2003 nominee: Indranath Ghosh
  • 2002 nominee: Yan Lou
  • 2001 nominee: Yufa Liu
  • 2000 nominee: (no nomination)
  • 1999 nominee: Erin Pelkey
  • 1998 nominee: Chaohong Sun
  • 1997 nominee: Patrick Lindner
  • 1996 nominee and winner: Amy J. Warren
  • 1995 nominees: Marcela L. Alvarez and Matthew C. Posewitz
  • 1994 nominee: Brian J. Lavey
  • 1993 nominee: David T. Anderson